Our Past, Present and Future

Hong Kong Family Welfare Society (HKFWS), known originally as the Social Service Centre of the Churches when established in 1938, became an independent non-governmental organisation on 1st January, 1949 with the initiation of the Rt. Rev. R. O. Hall and the expert assistance of Miss Katherine Scott-Moncrieff, a well-known social worker from the United Kingdom.

In the 1970s, we pioneered Family Life Education, set up Clinical Psychological Service and Home Help Service, and pilot School Social Work Service and Foster Care Service. Since 1985, we have initiated a variety of evidence-based experimental services including the Mental Health Group,“Drop-in” for isolated families, multiple support for Single Parents, Therapeutic Groups for Abusive Families, and Emergency Foster Care etc.

In the 1990s, the Society developed Family Mediation Service, Service for New Arrivals, and a Family Retreat Centre to support families. In 2004, we set up Integrated Family Service Centres (IFSCs) and have six IFSCs at present to provide accessible one-stop services and develop a variety of services to support families.

The Society has been addressing to the needs of divorced families to develop Family Resource Centre, the Family Mediation Service and “A Beam of Hope-Pilot Project on ’Child-focused’ Parenting Coordination and Co-parenting Services for Divorced Families”. In 2016, the Society was commissioned by Social Welfare Department to launch the Pilot Project on Children Contact Service to support divorced couples and their children to initiate and maintain communications.

Apart from School Social Work Service, the Society also set up an Integrated Children and Youth Service Centre in 1999, piloted Net Education services, introduced Peer Mediation in primary and secondary schools to foster a harmonious school environment. The Society has also developed different service packages for students with Special Education Needs (SEN) with the aim to enable them to integrate in school life and actualise their potentials. In recent years, the Society has expanded financial education service for youth and their parents, set up a Financial Education Centre and launched the “S-QUBE Youth Financial Empowerment Project”.

Facing the rapidly ageing population in Hong Kong, the Society has reformed our home based service model to a spectrum of comprehensive elderly and community support services, including pain control and rehabilitation education. We set up health care centres on outlying islands and self-financed service “Viva” in the town to provide flexible day care and rehabilitation programmes for the frail elders. The Society also provides the Dementia Assessment Support Project with the component of Dementia Community Education and has launched the “Smiley Activation Project – Community / Home-based Depression Treatment for the Elderly” and “Advance Care Planning” Project to serve their needs.

HKFWS has been serving Hong Kong for 70 years. Based on our “Family Perspective”, our staff has been dedicated to actualising our mission in serving families and the community with love and passion. We will continue to enhance our service quality and innovate services to meet the changing needs and promote the wellbeing of families and the Hong Kong community.

我們的過去、
現在與未來

本會於1938年在香港建立工作點,初名教會社會服務中心,至1949年在何明華會督 (Rt. Rev. R. O. Hall) 及英國資深社會工作者施國望小姐 (Miss Katherine Scott-Moncrieff) 的協助下,成為獨立非政府家庭服務機構,正名為香港家庭福利會。

本會於1970年代,倡導家庭生活教育、設臨床心理服務、家務助理服務,試行駐校的社會工作、寄養服務等。1985年開始,以實證方法推行嶄新服務,包括健康身心小組、家庭「偶到」服務、單親家庭支援、被虐家庭治療小組、緊急寄養服務等。

90年代,本會開展家事調解服務、新來港定居人士服務和家庭退修中心等,為家庭提供支援。2004年成立了「綜合家庭服務中心」,提供一站式服務,至今共設立了六個「綜合家庭服務中心」,發展相關服務。

本會特別關注離異家庭的需要,發展家福中心、家事調解服務和「夾縫中的曙光 『兒童為本』共享親職先導計劃」,於2016年獲社會福利署委託提供子女探視服務先導計劃,成立了「親籽薈」,協助離異父母與其子女重建及維持良好的溝通及接觸。

除學校社會工作服務,於1999年設立綜合青少年服務中心,此外,亦提供網絡支援及輔導服務,引入朋輩調解,並擴展至各中小學,締建和諧校園文化,同時協助有特殊需要的學生融入主流學校,發展所長。近年銳意拓展青少年及家長的理財教育工作,設立理財教育中心,推出「S-QUBE青年理財教育計劃」。

面對香港嚴重的人口老化問題,本會在到戶模式的家居照顧服務上,提供痛楚治療和復康教育,在離島及市區為體弱長者設立彈性日間照顧,成立「Viva維健坊」,實踐「老有所安」的精神,推展「認知障礙評估及支援計劃」,並加入社區教育的元素,開展「躍動晚情 長者抗抑鬱地區計劃」,以及「預設照顧」計劃,提供支援。

家福會為香港服務70年,全體員工秉持「以家為本」的信念,以愛心與熱誠,承擔使命和責任,持續優化服務,迎變創新,以惠澤香港的家庭和廣大市民。