Community Care and Support Services for the Elderly

Service Report Highlights

Additional Resources from Social Welfare Department

Starting from 1 October 2018, additional resources for new initiatives were granted from Social Welfare Department for Integrated Home Care Services and Enhanced Home and Community Care Services, including dementia care, support for needy carers, on-site carer training and Speech Therapy Service. We have also employed speech therapists to help the elderly with moderate to severe level of impairment treat their swallow difficulties and speech problems. Our four service centres providing pain relief service for the elderly by registered Chinese medicine practitioners, doctors and physiotherapists with training in acupuncture. Some of our service centres also provide Flexible Day Care Service to the frail elderly.

  • Elderly and their carers tried different GeronTech products together
  • Elderly users and the carers visited the ”Zonta White House”

Provide Frail Elderly Point-to-Point Transport Service from the Community to Old Aged Home

Both North Point Centre and Cho Yiu Centre received sponsorship from the Apple Daily Charitable Foundation. Starting from October 2018, the former launched the “Viva Happy Buddy Volunteer Project”. The volunteers provided elder-sitter services in Day Care Centre after receiving a series of carer training. Starting from May 2018, the latter started the “Viva Escort Service Project” to provide point- to-point transport service which could help ease carer’s burden to move their frail elderly from the community into residential care homes. During the period from April to December 2018, Cho Yiu Centre received the sponsorship from the Jockey Club Centre for Positive Ageing Alz-umni Association to carry out “Joyful Cookery Experiential Project” which delivered cooking therapy with multi-sensory stimulation to the elderly with mild cognitive impairment and dementia. The participants and their family members could enjoy cooking and had fun together. The project booklets had been published and distributed to the day care centres in the non-governmental organisations sector.

  • Point-to-point transport service offered for frail elderly
  • Elderly, their family members and our helpers cooked fried capsicums & eggplants with minced fishes together

Launch the Jockey Club Age-friendly City Project – “Advance in Facilities, Enhance in Love”

Located in Kowloon City, the Centre for Active Ageing values holistic wellbeing. Through different services, partnership collaborations, as hubs to connect community resources, the Centre aims to lead the elderly to healthy, positive, active and happy life. Funded by the Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust, our Centre organised the Jockey Club Age-friendly City Project – “Advance in Facilities, Enhance in Love” this year to assist the elderly living in old buildings in improving their home facilities. The project has recorded a total of 1,593 service attendance. Our Centre has also become a project partner of the Jockey Club Community eHealth Care Project. By providing innovative and comprehensive health-care support services to our members, we endevour to facilitate our elderly to lead a healthy lifestyle.

  • Jockey Club Age-friendly City Project Sharing Session
  • Ambassadors shared the eight domains of an Age-friendly city

Dementia Assessment and Support Project Provides Multi-tiered Intervention and Support

With the funding support from Tsu Te Kian Charitable Trust, the Dementia Assessment and Support Project aims at promoting community better understanding on dementia, uplifting their awareness of modifiable risk factors on dementia; early identification of elderly with dementia and make referrals for early intervention(s); support to elderly with dementia and their caregivers to enhance their competence and reduce their stress in living with dementia. In the past year, multi-tiered intervention and support including Dementia Assessment Service, Dementia Care Planning Service, Medical Support Scheme for Dementia, Fast Dementia Screening to Elderly, Dementia Community Education and Dementia Careline were implemented, with a record of 5,528 service attendance. We also trained 178 volunteers and shared the Project outcomes during the annual seminar of the Hong Kong Brain Foundation Ltd.

  • Elderly with dementia in Carer Forum enjoyed their good time

Rise in the number of Beneficiaries of Smiley Activation Project

With the funding support from the HSBC 150th Anniversary Charity Programme through the Community Chest of Hong Kong, the “Smiley Activation Project” — Community/Home-Based Depression Treatment for the Elderly has entered its fourth year of operation in October 2018. Following the protocol specifically addressing depression, our social workers provided home-based intervention focusing on activities as well as enhancement of elderly’s problem solving ability and social connection. Various psychosocial programmes, education talks on anti-depression and resilience and promotion activities were organised for elderly users, their carers and the public. The Careline operated smoothly with support from our trained volunteers under social workers’ supervision. In the past year, 76 volunteers have been recruited to support the Careline, home visit, education programmes and promotion activities, volunteering a total of 1,173 service hours and making 1,497 phone calls. A total of 744 individuals and 3,916 service attendance were recorded.

  • Elderly shared her joy with social worker
  • Plant rubbing workshop

長者社區照顧及支援服務

服務報告

獲社會福利署增撥資源

綜合家居照顧服務和改善家居及社區照顧服務獲得社署增撥資源,自2018年10月1日起提供認知障礙症照顧、護老者支援、到戶護老者訓練及言語治療服務。本會今年增聘言語治療師,幫助有吞嚥困難及言語障礙的中度至嚴重缺損的長者。此外,四間服務中心均設有「社區復康及痛楚紓緩站」,由已接受針灸訓練的註冊中醫、西醫及物理治療師主理,幫助長者紓緩痛楚。部分服務中心亦提供「彈性日間照顧服務」,為體弱長者提供日間中心服務。

  • 長者及家人一起體驗各式各樣樂齡科技產品
  • 長者與照顧者參觀「崇德家福軒」親親大自然

為體弱長者提供點對點由社區遷入院舍護送服務

北角中心及祖堯中心先後獲得蘋果日報慈善基金贊助。前者於2018年10月開始推行「維健開心果」義工計劃,透過護老者技巧訓練讓義工成為「開心果」並在中心提供「陪老」服務。後者則於2018年5月開始推行「維健院『社』安居計劃」,為體弱長者提供點對點由社區遷入院舍護送服務。祖堯中心亦獲得賽馬會耆智園Alz-umni Association校友會的支持,於2018年4月至12月期間推行「廚樂天地體驗計劃」,以「烹飪治療」應用於輕度認知功能障礙及認知障礙症患者,並將有關計劃的書冊派發予業界同工分享經驗。

  • 為體弱長者提供護送搬遷服務
  • 護理員及長幼家屬成員齊齊製作煎釀三寶

推出「賽馬會齡活城市計劃之家多點溫暖 長者住屋環境改善計劃」

本會位於九龍城的活齡中心,一直重視「全人健康」,期望透過不同向度的服務、伙伴協作、連繫社區資源,促進活齡人士建立健康、積極、活躍和快樂的晚年。本年度,獲資助推出「賽馬會齡活城市計劃之家多點溫暖 長者住屋環境改善計劃」,協助區內居於舊式樓宇的長者,受惠人次合共1,593次。此外,中心亦成為賽馬會「e健樂」電子健康管理計劃的合作夥伴,為會員提供創新及全面的健康支援服務,協助長者建立健康人生。

  • 賽馬會齡活城市計劃之分享會
  • 齡活大使分享「長者及年齡友善社區」八大範疇

「認知障礙評估及支援計劃」提供多層面介入及支援

「認知障礙評估及支援計劃」獲得左滌江慈善信託基金資助,提升社區人士關注及認識這病症及其可改變的風險因素;及早識別認知障礙症和轉介;支援認知障礙症長者及其照顧者,延緩患者認知退化及減輕照顧者壓力。本年度,透過認知障礙評估服務、認知障礙照顧策劃服務、認知障礙症醫療優惠計劃、認知障礙快速檢測、認知障礙社區教育、認知障礙關懷專線,為有需要人士提供多層面介入及支援,共服務5,528人次,訓練178名義工。本會亦於香港腦科基金會周年研討會上分享計劃成效。

  • 長者享受「全港認知障礙症照顧者論壇」歡樂時光

「躍動晚情 長者抗抑鬱地區計劃」受惠人數上升

承蒙滙豐150週年慈善計劃透過香港公益金資助,「躍動晚情 長者抗抑鬱地區計劃」於2018年10月踏入第四年。本會社工根據為支援抑鬱症而設計的指引,提供到戶服務,協助長者建立愉快生活,加強解難能力和改善社會連繫。同時,亦舉辦有關預防抑鬱及加強抗逆力的多元化社交心理及教育活動和服務推廣。在義工的熱心支持下,關懷熱線服務亦運作順暢。本計劃全年受惠人數共744人,受惠人次共3,916次,以及招募了76名新登記義工,支援關懷熱線、家訪以及各類活動。義工服務時數共1,173小時及1,497次通電話。

  • 長者與社工分享喜悅
  • 植物拓印工作坊