Child Care Services

Service Report Highlights

Reinforce Promotion and Step Up Efforts to Recruit Foster Families and Child Carers in Key Spots

Owing to the inadequate foster families, continuous efforts on service promotion and recruitment of foster families were made to accommodate the increasing need of child care service from the needy families. We organised promotion programmes such as The “Love, sharing love” programme for wedding couples in wedding banquets, fundraising concert and utilised different platforms such as social media and media interviews to promote foster care service and recruit more foster families. We also collaborated with the Social Welfare Department and other foster care agencies to establish the“Task Group on Promotion and Recruitment” to formulate strategies on service promotion and recruitment of foster families. We also identified some key spots for promotional programmes in Sai Kung and Tseung Kwan O to recruit child carers in addressing the incremental needs for child care service.

  • Media interview for foster parents
  • Mobile counter was set up in Po Lam for service promotion and recruitment of carers

Provide Professional Training and Support Group to Foster Parents and Child Carers

In order to enhance caring quality and provide mutual support to foster parents, regular trainings on play therapy for parents, parent-child financial management, sensory integration were arranged. Support group in different districts were also established to provide mutual support and enhance caring quality of foster parents. We also provided regular training on children health and home safety to enhance child care techniques of carers. Regular mutual support programmes and mass family activities were held for carers and parents so as to enhance their physical and mental health wellbeing, as well as to promote mutual support.

  • Regualr in-service training for foster parents
  • Financial Education for parents and children

Partner with Different Organisations to Promote “Child Protection” Message

We partnered with Social Welfare Department, Maternal Child Care and Health Centre and schools to organise different publicity and education programmes to promote the messages, “not leaving children unattended” and “taking proper care of children”. We also organised parent-and-child programmes to strengthen the relationship between foster parents and their children to protect and care the traumatised foster children.

  • Carer looked after the child
  • Carer played with the child

Provide Resources and Additional Support Service to Enhance SEN Children’s Learning

We spared continuous efforts to provide resources and different tailor-made programmes such as mentorship programmes from corporations or charitable organisations, outdoor activities and festivals celebration activities for foster children to broaden their horizons and develop their potentials. Other than our ATAA Jockey Club Tseung Kwan O Youth Square and Women and Family Enhancement Centre, we have collaborated with Taikoo Primary School and Shaukeiwan Tsung Tsin School in Shaukeiwan to provide after school care services for the needy families. To enhance motivation in learning and the self-esteem of children with SEN, we also designed various kind of activities on self management skill, problem solving and life value.

  • Christmas is a time for blessing! The kids were all happy after receiving gifts
  • Children were equipped with problem-solving skills in adventure activities

兒童照顧服務

服務報告

加強宣傳寄養服務在重點地點及招募社區保姆

由於現時寄養家庭數目未能滿足服務需要。本會今年舉辦「婚享愛」活動、籌款音樂會及利用媒體如報章及社交網絡加強宣傳寄養服務,希望讓更多家庭認識此服務,從而有興趣投身成為寄養家庭。本會亦特別與社會福利署及其他寄養服務機構聯合組成「推廣及宣傳寄養服務聯合工作小組」,携手制定服務宣傳方針及招募策略,並於不同區域推展有關服務的宣傳工作。此外,積極於重點區域如西貢及將軍澳區招募更多優質的社區保姆,以配合不斷增加的服務需要。

  • 報章訪問 寄養家長
  • 於寶林舉辦行街展宣傳及進行保姆招募

為寄養家長及社區保姆提供不同類型專業訓練及支援平台

為持續提升寄養家長照顧寄養兒童的質素,本會定期舉辦不同類型的訓練,如親子遊戲治療法家長課程、親子理財之道及認識感覺統合等,讓寄養家長適時增值,亦於不同區域設立了寄養家長互相支援平台,維繫及支援家長在照顧及管教方面遇到的困難和挑戰。本會亦定期舉辦保姆訓練活動,增加保姆對幼兒護理及家居安全的知識,提升她們照顧幼兒的技巧。我們亦為保姆及家長舉辦支援及大型家庭活動,促進身心健康,倡導互助精神。

  • 中心定期為寄養家長舉辦訓練
  • 親子理財教育

與機構合作,宣揚「保護兒童免受傷害」信息

本會與不同機構及政府部門,如社會福利署、母嬰健康院、學校等維持緊密合作,舉辦不同形式的宣傳及教育活動,發放「切勿獨留兒童不顧」及「妥善照顧幼兒」的信息。此外,亦組織親子活動,加強寄養父母及寄養兒童之間的聯繫,讓曾受傷害的寄養兒童受到適當的保護及照顧。

  • 保姆悉心照顧幼兒
  • 保姆在照顧期間陪伴幼兒玩耍

為有特別學習需要兒童發掘資源及提供額外支援服務,提升他們學習動機

本會一直為寄養兒童發掘資源及提供不同種類的活動,其中有來自不同商業機構或慈善團體贊助或合作舉辦的活動如師友計劃、農莊遊歷及節日慶祝活動等藉此擴闊兒童的視野,讓他們增加自信、發掘自己的潛能。除本會藝進同學會賽馬會將軍澳青年坊及婦女及家庭成長中心外,本會與位於筲箕灣區內的太古小學、筲箕灣崇真學校合作,為有需要家庭提供課餘托管服務。我們亦為有特殊學習需要的學童提供額外支援服務,設計不同的活動,提升學童學習動機,內容包括自我管理技巧、提升解決問題能力和認識生命價值等。

  • 普天同慶!每個小朋友收到聖誕禮物都好開心!
  • 參加歷奇遊戲,學習合作,提升解決問題的能力